History of Mu ChapterMu Sigma Chi History
The Mu Chapter of Sigma Chi Fraternity was established March 2, 1868 at Denison University. The first fraternity to Denison's Granville, Ohio campus, Mu of Sigma Chi was the 20th chapter chartered by the National Fraternity, and the third chapter in the state of Ohio. As a member of the Southern Ohio Province, Mu Chapter has established itself as one of the strongest Sigma Chi chapters worldwide, with an active Alumni Association of over 1,100 living alumni.
Since June of 1931, the men of Mu Chapter have occupied the building known on campus as "One Fraternity Row". The striking stone building sits atop Denison's hill, and has remained a functional house for over 70 years. Though the Sig House is no longer a residential facility, Mu Sigs still use and value this beautiful house as the centerpiece of their fraternity experience.
In 1999, the Mu Chapter Alumni Association began a project for the restoration of the Sigma Chi house. In the fall of 2001, final touches were completed to "One Fraternity Row", as the building has been completely updated with modern infrastructure while remaining faithful to its original glory. The Sig House at Denison is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.